Page 1 of 1

Can't record and then playout same file properly

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:14 am
by DeLuSioNaL29
Hello all,

I'm new to the forums, and I joined in desperation to find out how to solve my problem with inp recording and playback. I seem to be recording just fine, but my playback is always off for some reason. Note: I'm trying to record my gameplay in zookeeper (zookeep.zip) with the default settings in MAME32 .119.

Here's what I am doing...

I'm running the "record.bat" and "playback.bat" files found in the "Help" section of the Marp page - so that the nvram, cfg, etc get moved before the recording and playback.
My record.bat file contains:

Code: Select all

rem usage: record <gamename> [ other MAME options ]

move hi\%1.hi hi\%1.tmp
move cfg\%1.cfg cfg\%1.tmp
move nvram\%1.nv nvram\%1.tmp
mame %1 -record %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6
move hi\%1.tmp hi\%1.hi
move cfg\%1.tmp cfg\%1.cfg
move nvram\%1.tmp nvram\%1.nv
My playback.bat file contains:

Code: Select all

rem usage: playback <gamename> <filename> [ other MAME options ]

move hi\%1.hi hi\%1.tmp
move cfg\%1.cfg cfg\%1.tmp
move nvram\%1.nv nvram\%1.tmp
mame %1 -playback %2 %3 %4 %5 %6
move hi\%1.tmp hi\%1.hi
move cfg\%1.tmp cfg\%1.cfg
move nvram\%1.tmp nvram\%1.nv
Here's exactly what I am doing to record.
- In my MAME directory, I type: record zookeep
- It starts the game
- I type "OK" to continue to pass the disclaimer
- I hit "enter" to bypass the game info screen
- The the words "This location" pop up (maintenance screen?) and I hit "F3" to reset the game
- The game starts in demo mode
- I hit 5 to input a coin
- I hit 1 for player 1 start
- I play the game
- Once I am all done and all men have been lost, I hit "esc" to exit the game (recording stops)

Here's exactly what I am doing to playback.
- In my MAME directory, I type: playback zookeep zookeep
- Note: "zookeep" is what the batch program saved it as)
- It starts the game
- I type "OK" to continue to pass the disclaimer
- I hit "enter" to bypass the game info screen
- The the words "This location" pop up (maintenance screen?) and I hit "F3" to reset the game
- The game starts in demo mode and then it automatically inputs the coin and then starts the recording.
- However, after a while the inputs stop matching what I originally input and the zookeeper guys keeps dying since the moves are not matching.

I've tried this is MAME32 .119, MAMEUI .127 and WOLFMAME. I can't get it to playback correctly for anything.

I have a feeling it has something to do with the F3 (reset) key I am forced to press in order to continue.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

~ DeLuSioNaL

Re: Can't record and then playout same file properly

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:50 am
by Phil Lamat
Any hit on F3 isn't recorded in any input, and so that's why it isn't playbacked properly.
I don't remember zookeep very well, but if you have to go through test screens, use F1/F2 to progress through the test screens, those are kept properly in input, and it should playback

Re: Can't record and then playout same file properly

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:00 pm
by DeLuSioNaL29
Yep, that did the trick. =D>

Once in the game, you type "OK" to bypass the disclaimer. Hit "enter" to bypass the game info. Then I hit "F1" 5 times past various settings. Then 5 for coin, then 1 for start. It worked flawlessly when playing it back.

Thanks so much. I've spent the last two weeks trying multiple versions of MAME with no good result. This however, solved it.

~ DeLuSioNaL

Re: Can't record and then playout same file properly

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 6:04 pm
by LN2
yep, F3 not recorded...F1 and F2 are recorded.

also, if you have more playback issues, make sure you are using a fixed frameskip value...not dynamic/automatic.

Re: Can't record and then playout same file properly

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:27 pm
by tar